History of the Club
The Vinoy has a rich history of excellence and revival. Take a look at what an inspired journey it has been and will continue to be with you.
1880s: The Vinoy's bayside property is purchased for $35.
1920: The Coffeepot Golf Club is designed and built by J. Franklin Meehan, who worked with renowned golf course architect, A.W. Tillinghast.
1923: Aymer Vinoy Laughner, accompanied by his friends, Gene Eliot and golfing legend Walter Hagen, conceives the idea for The Vinoy Park Hotel.
1925: The Vinoy Park Hotel opens on December 31.
1920s-1930s: Celebrities, presidents and St. Petersburg’s residents flock to the hotel—making it the venue for important social occasions.
1927: A new 18-hole Snell Isle Golf Course is designed by Stiles and Van Kleek.
1940s: WWII army cooks and bakers train at the resort, which later closes briefly for post-war repairs.
1950s: During the post-war boom, The Vinoy is a favored winter destination.
1974: After several years of decline in guest occupancy and maintenance, The Vinoy closes, to sit empty for years.
1978: St. Petersburg citizens are instrumental in securing The Vinoy's place on the National Register of Historic Places.
1980s: St. Petersburg citizens protect The Vinoy from demolition.
1992: After a painstaking, two-year renovation, The Vinoy re-opens, restored to its original grandeur. The National Trust for Historic Preservation names it one of the Historic Hotels of America.
2000: The stunning Palm Court Ballroom is added.
2009: The Vinoy undergoes a multi-million-dollar renovation, including adding a Chihuly chandelier in the Grand Ballroom.
2011: The lobby and veranda are transformed, creating a lively waterfront vibe.
2015: The Legendary Vinoy® Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club celebrates 90 years.
2016: Renovations begin to make The Vinoy Club more incredible than ever before.